skip to Main Content

What are Tax Exemptions

Tax exemptions allow the homeowner a certain dollar amount or percentage of the home value from property taxes. Types of exceptions include:
– Homestead/Homeowner – apply to primary residences, not rental properties or
investment properties.
– Senior Citizen – provides tax relief by reducing the equalized assessed valuation of an eligible residence. This savings is in the form of a deduction on the second- installment real estate tax bill. The home must be the primary residence and the homeowner must be at least 65 years of age (other criteria may apply)
– Senior Freeze – allows qualified senior citizens to apply for a freeze of the equalized assessed value (EAV) of their properties for the year preceding the year in which they first apply and qualify for this exemption
– Disabled Veterans Homeowner – Veterans with a service-connected disability as certified by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs are eligible for this annual
exemption. It reduces by certain amounts the Equalized Assessed Value (EAV) on a disabled veteran’s primary residence, very likely lowering the tax bill.
– Disabled Person – this exemption provides disabled persons with an annual $2,000 reduction in the equalized assessed value (EAV) of the property.

Category: What Home Buyers Should Know
Back To Top